"My duty is not affected by what others may or may not do to discharge their own." -- Honor Harrington







It is currently Sun Oct 21, 2018 1:32 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] 


 Post subject: Questions about Refitting ships
PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2015 10:10 pm 
Voyager
Voyager
Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2014 3:29 pm
Posts: 2
Offline
I have several questions about refitting ships.

1. Refitting appears to be done on a system wide basis rather than at a specific planet within a system, i.e. if I have a Star Base within a system it enables me to refit all ships within that system even if some of those ships are orbiting a planet without a star base. Is this a correct statement?

2. Refitting appears to occur simultaneously rather than sequentially, i.e. if I queue two scout type ships for refit (each taking two turns to refit) and one transport type ship for refit (taking four turns to refit), then I will have two refitted scouts two turns from now and a refitted transport four turns from now. Is this a correct statement?

3. Somewhat related to #1 above, it appears that a shipyard in a system affects the length of time required to refit regardless of where ships are within the system. Is this a correct statement?

4. What happens if enemy ships enter a system where I have ships refitting? Can my refitting ships engage? If so, what "level" of "things" (armor, weapons, engines, etc) do my ships use in combat? And if my ships are "stuck" in refit, can they be attacked by the enemy ships in the system (for this question, assume I have no friendly ships in the system that are NOT refitting).

5. No question, but a request. It would be extremely useful if the Fleet Status (F10) showed "refit" in the same manner as it shows other activities. Even more useful would be if it would show how long until that refit is complete (such as Refit 5).


Top
 Profile  
 

 Post subject: Re: Questions about Refitting ships
PostPosted: Thu Jan 22, 2015 3:02 pm 
Dev. Team
Horizon
Horizon
User avatar
Dev. Team
Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2003 9:04 pm
Posts: 1355
Location: Toronto, Canada
Offline
matt3916 wrote:
1. Refitting appears to be done on a system wide basis rather than at a specific planet within a system, i.e. if I have a Star Base within a system it enables me to refit all ships within that system even if some of those ships are orbiting a planet without a star base. Is this a correct statement?
Ships automatically orbit and dock near a planet with refitting (starbase or shipyard) capabilities once the order to refit is given. This is to reduce micro for the player (having to manually orbit first before the refit option becomes available).

Quote:
2. Refitting appears to occur simultaneously rather than sequentially, i.e. if I queue two scout type ships for refit (each taking two turns to refit) and one transport type ship for refit (taking four turns to refit), then I will have two refitted scouts two turns from now and a refitted transport four turns from now. Is this a correct statement?
Yes. In the current system you can refit simultaneously as many ships as you want though the turns they each take is dependent on the changes.

Quote:
3. Somewhat related to #1 above, it appears that a shipyard in a system affects the length of time required to refit regardless of where ships are within the system. Is this a correct statement?
Ships will refit at a shipyards if there is one and reduce the refit time by half compared to refitting at a starbase.

Quote:
4. What happens if enemy ships enter a system where I have ships refitting? Can my refitting ships engage? If so, what "level" of "things" (armor, weapons, engines, etc) do my ships use in combat? And if my ships are "stuck" in refit, can they be attacked by the enemy ships in the system (for this question, assume I have no friendly ships in the system that are NOT refitting).
Your ships are vulnurable and can be attacked during refit and you can also engage (aborting the refit). During a refit components are removed and replaced one or more at a time but not all at once, so if the refit is aborted the ship can still partially function.

Quote:
5. No question, but a request. It would be extremely useful if the Fleet Status (F10) showed "refit" in the same manner as it shows other activities. Even more useful would be if it would show how long until that refit is complete (such as Refit 5).
Noted suggestion, thanks.

_________________
Horizon - Lead Designer


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group