First impressions

General Discussions
ronan
Voyager
Voyager

First impressions

Post by ronan »

Hi,

I just bought HORIZON from steam today and I'd like to share some early impressions. Perhaps they are already being addressed, but here it goes. My background is an experienced 4X player, all the MOO's and everything else like it, so I'm not a newbie.

1) planet development seems strange. First it's hard to track what's happening on each planet... it'd be nice if you could run through planets easily.. I've seen that mentioned elsewhere in the forums. More strangely, at an early stage, there doesn't seem to be any choices on what to build on the planet, other than the order in which you want to build things... that's disappointing as planet development is one of the things I enjoyed most.

2) combat is strange but this is, for me, is due to a lack of information rather than the mechanics. I don't know why engage sector sometimes works and sometimes doesn't. I guess it must wait to the end of turn perhaps. More importantly I wasn't aware that combat was for the entire system and not just in the area of the planet. Many times I was not aware of why I was in combat when what I saw my ships on screen but no enemy. That comes to my biggest issue.. I don't know where my enemy is when I am in combat or why I am in combat.. that needs more flagging in someway - particularly to say who your enemy is and WHERE you are being attacked

3) in diplomacy when the comms screen comes up when the aliens want to talk to you, it does not mention WHO the aliens are. Unless you can recognise them, there is no obvious way to figure out who is talking to you. Even a banner that said the "envoy from ..." would be a great help. It's not a long term issue as long term players will learn... but why make it hard in the first place.

4) why can't you rename ships that you've designed?

5) how do you repair ships?... bring them back to shipyards?