"I say we take off and nuke the place from orbit... It's the only way to be sure." -- Aliens







It is currently Sat Oct 24, 2020 10:18 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 


 Post subject: System Req Question
PostPosted: Wed Nov 20, 2013 3:22 pm 
Voyager
User avatar
Voyager
Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2013 2:05 pm
Posts: 2
Offline
Hello. I'm interested in playing Horizon, but according to System Requirements Lab I can't. I'd like a second opinion. I have an ATI Radeon 4200 HD, integrated. Its crap for gaming I know. It has 256mb dedicated video ram. I notice the system reqs for Horizon say a minimum of 512mb is necessary.

It also says 3.0 Shader support, and I have 4.0. So the only red flag seems to be the lower ram. I have a hard time believing I can't run the game, looking at the graphics (no offense, game looks great :D ) I have run titles such as X-Com: Enemy Unknown, Call of Duty Black Ops, Skyrim, Starcraft 2 and Dragon Age: Origins, all with decent enough frame rates to be playable on the 4200.

So, is System Reqs Lab possibly wrong, or do I really need a dedicated video card? Thanks in advance for any help.


Top
 Profile  
 

 Post subject: Re: System Req Question
PostPosted: Wed Nov 20, 2013 4:11 pm 
Vanguard
Citizen
Citizen
Vanguard
Joined: Thu Jun 27, 2013 10:45 am
Posts: 49
Offline
You don't need a dedicated video card. I have run the game on my Microsoft Surface Pro.


Top
 Profile  
 

 Post subject: Re: System Req Question
PostPosted: Wed Nov 20, 2013 9:05 pm 
Dev. Team
Horizon
Horizon
User avatar
Dev. Team
Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2003 9:04 pm
Posts: 1368
Location: Toronto, Canada
Offline
Most video chipsets will share memory (use windows system memory) to augment the video ram. If your video chipset has this capability and allocates at least 512mb (preferably 1024mb) then the game should run as long as performance isn't too bad.

Otherwise anything less than 512mb with the current version will not be playable even if it runs. We hope to reduce the requirement further at a later date by adding low quality texture option but this is not available now.

_________________
Horizon - Lead Designer


Top
 Profile  
 

 Post subject: Re: System Req Question
PostPosted: Thu Nov 21, 2013 7:12 am 
Voyager
User avatar
Voyager
Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2013 2:05 pm
Posts: 2
Offline
Ok thanks


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group