"It is not sufficient that I succeed--all others must fail." -- Genghis Khan







It is currently Sat Nov 18, 2017 7:17 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 


 Post subject: slower Research
PostPosted: Mon Oct 30, 2017 3:01 am 
Voyager
Voyager
Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2017 2:49 am
Posts: 2
Offline
Is it possible to decrease the Research?

Maybe to increase the Techcost?
or with a new ability?
or to decrease the resaerch output from building?

Would be nice, because so the game is to fast.


Top
 Profile  
 

 Post subject: Re: slower Research
PostPosted: Thu Nov 02, 2017 11:51 am 
Dev. Team
Horizon
Horizon
User avatar
Dev. Team
Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2003 9:04 pm
Posts: 1338
Location: Canada
Offline
Thanks for your feedback. Yes it would be nice if we had a slider to adjust it in game.

Right now the Game difficulty setting affects Research Production (and other things as well). That's the quickest way without changes.

Very Easy = +20%
Easy = +10%
Normal = +0%
Hard = -10%
Very Hard = -20%

Other option would be to make a mod and change tech costs. (not exposed)

_________________
Horizon - Lead Designer


Top
 Profile  
 

 Post subject: Re: slower Research
PostPosted: Tue Nov 07, 2017 11:33 am 
Voyager
Voyager
Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2017 2:49 am
Posts: 2
Offline
Thanks for your answer.

Where i can see what all the difficult levels change?
But i think is still to fast then, is it possibile to edit the difficult levels or the Reasarch cost for each technology?
I havenĀ“t found the files for it.

The game is fantastic, but to fast.


Top
 Profile  
 

 Post subject: Re: slower Research
PostPosted: Sat Nov 11, 2017 2:01 pm 
Dev. Team
Horizon
Horizon
User avatar
Dev. Team
Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2003 9:04 pm
Posts: 1338
Location: Canada
Offline
The difficulty level changes are not shown in the game. But the tech progress will be affected by the values I mentioned in my previous post.
This data is in code only so it is not possible to modify right now through the text XML files.

In my previous post I said you can mod but after reviewing 'the research cost values' aren't exposed to modding. They would be in tech_stats.xml if they were.

So currently some ways to affect would be:
- Difficulty setting
- Qty of stars in the game
- Qty of "habitable planets"
- Max Qty of "planets per system"
- Research aptitude (can make a mod reducing for all races)

If I get a chance to do a new update to Horizon, It will be one of the first things I'll add a research speed slider on the main menu.

Happy to hear you like the game and enjoy it!

_________________
Horizon - Lead Designer


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group