"Strength is the outcome of need; security sets a premium on feebleness." -- The Time Machine







It is currently Fri Apr 20, 2018 10:10 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 


 Post subject: Minor thing: Randomize home system planets for custom races
PostPosted: Wed Nov 26, 2014 10:01 am 
Ambassador
Ambassador
Joined: Sat Apr 06, 2013 11:31 pm
Posts: 60
Offline
Howdy,

One major disadvantage for Earthlings is the fixed, horrible solar system planets. Would like an option to "randomize home system planet size/number/quality".

What if I'm role-playing "The Twelve Colonies" or some such, or Omnedon's people from "The Price of the Phoenix" classic Trek novel, and didn't start in the Sol System eh?

A really minor ask since there are these other nifty aliens to customize and play with.


Top
 Profile  
 

 Post subject: Re: Minor thing: Randomize home system planets for custom r
PostPosted: Fri Dec 05, 2014 9:49 pm 
Dev. Team
Horizon
Horizon
User avatar
Dev. Team
Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2003 9:04 pm
Posts: 1352
Location: Toronto, Canada
Offline
{updated: 17/08/2015}

Excellent point. With today's update you can do this with a bit of modding!

1. Make a new folder called "The Twelve Colonies" under
C:\program files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Horizon\mods\

2. Create a sub-folder "races" in your new folder
C:\program files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Horizon\mods\The Twelve Colonies\races\

3. Launch Horizon and make a new race template using the Humans (race04) as default. You can edit the template further later. Quit the game.

4. Copy the race04 template folder from
C:\program files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Horizon\races\
into the mods folder you just created
C:\program files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Horizon\mods\The Twelve Colonies\races\

5. In your mods folder under templates you can delete the .har files and name your template.xml and template_lang.xml to default.xml and default_lang.xml
C:\program files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Horizon\mods\The Twelve Colonies\races\race04\templates\

Modify either or both the NumberOfPlanetsInSystem or PositionFromTheSun from it's default values.

Save and start Horizon. Click the Mods button and enable your new mod in the list. Then Restart the game.

Your modified template is now available to play with and will have random planet types in the system. You can further modify it in-game race customization as well.

_________________
Horizon - Lead Designer


Top
 Profile  
 

 Post subject: Re: Minor thing: Randomize home system planets for custom r
PostPosted: Sat Dec 06, 2014 2:25 pm 
Ambassador
Ambassador
Joined: Sat Apr 06, 2013 11:31 pm
Posts: 60
Offline
Coolness level exceeded!

thanks


Top
 Profile  
 

 Post subject: Re: Minor thing: Randomize home system planets for custom r
PostPosted: Sat Dec 27, 2014 11:21 pm 
Ambassador
Ambassador
Joined: Sat Apr 06, 2013 11:31 pm
Posts: 60
Offline
Hi,

I'm unable to get a custom race enabled. I just want to set NumberOfPlanetsInSystem = 6. I'm getting an appcrash no matter what the settings for in

C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Horizon\mods\The Twelve Colonies\races\Race04\templates\Default.xml

or

C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Horizon\mods\The Twelve Colonies\races\Race04\templates\The Twelve Colonies.xml

...but I suspect some other issue as per the errorlog.txt:

12/27/14 22:16:16 ERROR CRace::GetPollutionEffectOnPopulation() received invalid planetNum

I will submit a crash report, referencing this forum thread.


Top
 Profile  
 

 Post subject: Re: Minor thing: Randomize home system planets for custom r
PostPosted: Sun Dec 28, 2014 1:38 pm 
Dev. Team
Horizon
Horizon
User avatar
Dev. Team
Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2003 9:04 pm
Posts: 1352
Location: Toronto, Canada
Offline
When you set
<NumberOfPlanetsInSystem>6</NumberOfPlanetsInSystem>

make sure that homeworld position is set to equal or smaller otherwise it can cause a crash
<PositionFromTheSun>2</PositionFromTheSun>

Assuming there are no other changes that should be working. If not, can you send the template to support at horizongame.com and I'll check or you can post the template here.

_________________
Horizon - Lead Designer


Top
 Profile  
 

 Post subject: Re: Minor thing: Randomize home system planets for custom r
PostPosted: Sat Aug 15, 2015 3:52 pm 
Citizen
User avatar
Citizen
Joined: Sat Aug 07, 2004 9:04 pm
Posts: 45
Location: Toronto, ON Canada
Offline
Zaimat wrote:
Excellent point. With today's update you can do this with a bit of modding!

1. Make a new folder called "The Twelve Colonies" under
C:\program files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Horizon\mods\

2. Launch Horizon and make a new race template using the Humans as default. You can edit the template further later. Quit the game.

3. Copy the race04 template folder from
C:\program files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Horizon\races\
into the mods folder you just created
C:\program files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Horizon\mods\The Twelve Colonies\

4. open to edit the default.xml in your mods folder
C:\program files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Horizon\mods\The Twelve Colonies\race04\template\

Modify either or both the NumberOfPlanetsInSystem or PositionFromTheSun from it's default values.

Save and start Horizon. Click the Mods button and enable your new mod in the list. Then Restart the game.

Your modified template is now available to play with and will have random planet types in the system. You can further modify it in-game race customization as well.

I cannot seem to get this to work--Humans always start with the real solar systyem. There is no default.xml just a default.har file. I named my template Human1 and there is both a Human1.xml and a Human1.har but editing Human1.xml to NumberOfPlanetsInSystem=8 and PositionFromTheSun=4 has no effect.

_________________
"Evil reptilian kitten-eater from another planet."
Ex Circuit Boi wannabe


Top
 Profile  
 

 Post subject: Re: Minor thing: Randomize home system planets for custom r
PostPosted: Mon Aug 17, 2015 1:48 pm 
Dev. Team
Horizon
Horizon
User avatar
Dev. Team
Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2003 9:04 pm
Posts: 1352
Location: Toronto, Canada
Offline
I've updated my original post, it was missing the races folder in the instructions. Sorry about that. Let me know if you still can't get it to work.

_________________
Horizon - Lead Designer


Top
 Profile  
 

 Post subject: Re: Minor thing: Randomize home system planets for custom r
PostPosted: Mon Aug 17, 2015 7:04 pm 
Citizen
User avatar
Citizen
Joined: Sat Aug 07, 2004 9:04 pm
Posts: 45
Location: Toronto, ON Canada
Offline
Excellent! That worked.

_________________
"Evil reptilian kitten-eater from another planet."
Ex Circuit Boi wannabe


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group