"Sometimes I think we're alone in the universe, and sometimes I think we're not. In either case the idea is quite staggering." -- Arthur C. Clarke







It is currently Tue Jul 23, 2019 9:06 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ] 


Do you like how colonization ships behave?
Keep it the way it is, I like how it works and I can decide what to do myself 71%  71%  [ 12 ]
Scrap the colonizer ship during colonization and I can build a new one for each colonization 29%  29%  [ 5 ]
Total votes : 17

 Post subject: Colonization ships behaviour
PostPosted: Sun Sep 01, 2013 11:41 pm 
Dev. Team
Horizon
Horizon
User avatar
Dev. Team
Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2003 9:04 pm
Posts: 1360
Location: Toronto, Canada
Offline
Currently colonizer ships drop their pods to colonize a planet but the ships stay in orbit.

In the next update. We have made the change so all ships *without orders* automatically orbit and dock at the nearest starbase/shipyards (if there is one in the system) for refits/upgrades/repairs.

Effectively removing the requirement to placing them in orbit manually (but you still have to move them to a system with a starbase/shipyards).

Do you like this behavior or would you rather see it changed further?

_________________
Horizon - Lead Designer


Top
 Profile  
 

 Post subject: Re: Colonization ships behaviour
PostPosted: Mon Sep 02, 2013 2:50 am 
Contributor
Ambassador
Ambassador
Contributor
Joined: Sat Jul 06, 2013 11:50 am
Posts: 98
Offline
I think it is good like this. Don't want your ships to be too 'self-acting' (except if it helps reduce needless busy work), however, having them orbit a nearby facility to be repaired and retrofitted on their own is useful (for the reason I just said before).

At the moment I can't think of what else we can do to make things smoother.


Top
 Profile  
 

 Post subject: Re: Colonization ships behaviour
PostPosted: Tue Sep 03, 2013 12:04 pm 
Vanguard
Ambassador
Ambassador
Vanguard
Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2013 7:07 am
Posts: 61
Offline
I certainly think this will be good change. However, will we get a message in the turn summary to say that a ship has been repaired/retrofitted/resupplied that gives details of what work was done i.e. lasers on cruiser 101 upgraded to mark v at star base zebra 3


Top
 Profile  
 

 Post subject: Re: Colonization ships behaviour
PostPosted: Tue Sep 03, 2013 1:07 pm 
Dev. Team
Horizon
Horizon
User avatar
Dev. Team
Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2003 9:04 pm
Posts: 1360
Location: Toronto, Canada
Offline
Cumberlow wrote:
I certainly think this will be good change. However, will we get a message in the turn summary to say that a ship has been repaired/retrofitted/resupplied that gives details of what work was done i.e. lasers on cruiser 101 upgraded to mark v at star base zebra 3
Right now it says taskforceName has been refit. We can add the location to it.

Detailing the components upgraded would take some extra work but beyond that it would also add a lot more 'noise' in the events list when there are many ships getting upgraded.

Since everything is upgraded to the latest version, would you find it that helpful?

_________________
Horizon - Lead Designer


Top
 Profile  
 

 Post subject: Re: Colonization ships behaviour
PostPosted: Tue Sep 03, 2013 10:41 pm 
Vanguard
Voyager
Voyager
Vanguard
Joined: Sun Sep 01, 2013 2:50 pm
Posts: 8
Offline
Zaimat wrote:
Right now it says taskforceName has been refit. We can add the location to it.


With the addition of a location I think this sounds like the perfect amount of info for a refit/repair/resupply notifications.

Zaimat wrote:
Detailing the components upgraded would take some extra work but beyond that it would also add a lot more 'noise' in the events list when there are many ships getting upgraded.


I think something like this will become more important if/when ships are going to be going through entire overhauls, rather than just an upgrade of equipment. I.E. swapping out specials, different weapon placements, all that good stuff. In those cases I think a pop-up detailing the differences would be very helpful.


Top
 Profile  
 

 Post subject: Re: Colonization ships behaviour
PostPosted: Wed Sep 04, 2013 5:02 am 
Vanguard
Ambassador
Ambassador
Vanguard
Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2013 7:07 am
Posts: 61
Offline
Zaimat wrote:
Detailing the components upgraded would take some extra work but beyond that it would also add a lot more 'noise' in the events list when there are many ships getting upgraded.

Since everything is upgraded to the latest version, would you find it that helpful?


Good point, it could get quite noisy later on in in game. Perhaps if it could just say how many ships were refitted at star base X? Will these refits be free or is there a resource cost since that could impact a decision to upgrade ships e.g. if broke.

I like resupplying colony ships. It differentiates Horizon from other 4x games colony ships that are all single use.


Top
 Profile  
 

 Post subject: Re: Colonization ships behaviour
PostPosted: Thu Sep 12, 2013 12:23 am 
Contributor
Advisor
Advisor
User avatar
Contributor
Joined: Wed Jul 03, 2013 1:33 pm
Posts: 136
Location: USA
Offline
I also like how you do Colonization, cutting out the busy work of choosing what planet it needs to orbit for upgrades is a good way to step this up.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 

 Post subject: Re: Colonization ships behaviour
PostPosted: Thu Sep 12, 2013 1:01 am 
Contributor
Ambassador
Ambassador
User avatar
Contributor
Joined: Sun Mar 03, 2013 7:56 pm
Posts: 69
Offline
Quote:
I like resupplying colony ships. It differentiates Horizon from other 4x games colony ships that are all single use.


this. (although i dont think i ever used it they make good scouts afterwords, and their cheap) its a feature, in my book. also think of putting one on a warship. turn the surface to glass , and recolonize it. buy a starbase and carry on.. =)

_________________
=(^.-.^)=

" A person can look for their one true love and find them, but could they look like the one true love for the person they find. " - Fairin


Top
 Profile  
 

 Post subject: Re: Colonization ships behaviour
PostPosted: Fri Sep 13, 2013 5:29 am 
Contributor
Ambassador
Ambassador
Contributor
Joined: Sat Jul 06, 2013 11:50 am
Posts: 98
Offline
I like the way you think Fairin, but indeed, the way Horizon does it is interesting and opens up the door for some interesting possibilities.


Top
 Profile  
 

 Post subject: Re: Colonization ships behaviour
PostPosted: Sun Sep 15, 2013 9:45 pm 
Contributor
Advisor
Advisor
User avatar
Contributor
Joined: Mon Aug 12, 2013 7:26 pm
Posts: 165
Location: Minsk
Offline
I like resupplying my colony ships.

I'd like even more to be able to build a mothership with several cargo holds, several colony pods and name it "The Plague Star".


Top
 Profile  
 

 Post subject: Re: Colonization ships behaviour
PostPosted: Fri Sep 20, 2013 9:30 am 
Voyager
Voyager
Joined: Sun Sep 15, 2013 3:12 am
Posts: 6
Offline
I would prefer having the colony ship scrap itself after colonizing a planet. It is annoying having to send the ship back home, put it in orbit and then fill it up again. Anyway colonies consist of more than just people; you need the tools, technology and equipment in those ships to start a colony on a fresh planet.


Top
 Profile  
 

 Post subject: Re: Colonization ships behaviour
PostPosted: Sun Sep 22, 2013 8:10 am 
Vanguard
Ambassador
Ambassador
Vanguard
Joined: Sat Aug 07, 2004 9:04 pm
Posts: 51
Offline
I think colonizing should be harder on both your economy and population.I think its a little easy spamming colonies.Colonizer ships should disband and also be very expensive to produce on cash and population in my view.


Top
 Profile  
 

 Post subject: Re: Colonization ships behaviour
PostPosted: Wed Oct 15, 2014 7:10 am 
Contributor
Advisor
Advisor
User avatar
Contributor
Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2014 1:55 pm
Posts: 267
Offline
I like the idea that a colonizer automatically goes to a shipyard, but what if you have none like at the start of the game?
What will the colonizer's default behavior be then?

_________________
keller~


Top
 Profile  
 

 Post subject: Re: Colonization ships behaviour
PostPosted: Wed Oct 22, 2014 9:11 pm 
Contributor
Advisor
Advisor
Contributor
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 7:02 pm
Posts: 169
Offline
Zaimat wrote:
Currently colonizer ships drop their pods to colonize a planet but the ships stay in orbit.

In the next update. We have made the change so all ships *without orders* automatically orbit and dock at the nearest starbase/shipyards (if there is one in the system) for refits/upgrades/repairs.

Effectively removing the requirement to placing them in orbit manually (but you still have to move them to a system with a starbase/shipyards).

Do you like this behavior or would you rather see it changed further?


There is one thing I would like to see added.
Its the ability to send a colony ship to a planet from the planet list(on the galaxy map) or the Star System screen, and have it automatically colonize the selected planet.

This was done in the MOO games, and its something I have requested previously and hope is possible to do.
It would make easier and smoother to manage colonization, at least in my opinion.

Other than that I like the way this is proposed as it saves some needless micromanagement.

Soldaris wrote:
I would prefer having the colony ship scrap itself after colonizing a planet. It is annoying having to send the ship back home, put it in orbit and then fill it up again. Anyway colonies consist of more than just people; you need the tools, technology and equipment in those ships to start a colony on a fresh planet.


You can already do this.
In the options you can select to have the colonizer be scrapped when you colonize a planet.
I think its a good idea and important to keep that option available, as it gives people the chance to choose their preferred way of playing.


Top
 Profile  
 

 Post subject: Re: Colonization ships behaviour
PostPosted: Tue Nov 04, 2014 12:38 pm 
Dev. Team
Horizon
Horizon
User avatar
Dev. Team
Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2003 9:04 pm
Posts: 1360
Location: Toronto, Canada
Offline
Bansheedragon wrote:
There is one thing I would like to see added.
Its the ability to send a colony ship to a planet from the planet list(on the galaxy map) or the Star System screen, and have it automatically colonize the selected planet.

This was done in the MOO games, and its something I have requested previously and hope is possible to do.
It would make easier and smoother to manage colonization, at least in my opinion.
Definitely a nice convenience option and we've added this automation feature which will be in the upcoming update.

_________________
Horizon - Lead Designer


Top
 Profile  
 

 Post subject: Re: Colonization ships behaviour
PostPosted: Wed Nov 05, 2014 1:09 am 
Contributor
Advisor
Advisor
User avatar
Contributor
Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2014 1:55 pm
Posts: 267
Offline
Quote:
Definitely a nice convenience option and we've added this automation feature which will be in the upcoming update.

:D Thanks

_________________
keller~


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group